Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Are they Fresh or Not?
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Are they Fresh...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
bobpies

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Thu Jun 20, 2013, 7:14am
Subject: Are they Fresh or Not?

Hi there,

so i have been buying fresh beans for about 2 years now for my rocket giotto.

Mainly sourcing them from "CoffeeBeanShop.co.uk"
I have always identified a freshly roasted bag of beans as ones that have a lot of gas still in them when you pull the shot, resulting in bubbles of crema oozing from the flow of coffee. Right or wrong, this is how i would personally identify it.

More recently the bags of beans i have been getting from here have been pretty bad - the shot results in a pretty crappy looking pour, with little crema - no bubbles and not particularly good tasting. - So much so that i recently tossed 3 bags of the stuff in the bin and said to hell with coffebeanshop once and for all.

I have had dealings with union as well, but wanted a roaster that does my favourite bean - old brown java - and ended up at SmithsCoffee

I just got their beans through the post today, squeezed the bag to get some of that coffee aroma up in my face, but nothing? - Opened the bag took a whiff, pretty bland... and i just thought to myself - ffs here we go again.

Into the grinder, poured a shot and again crappy pour, no crema, no bubbles - they are roasted very dark so have that kind of carbon taste to them, which i dont mind, but i wanted the god damn crema.