Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Complete Noob
Rocket R58 Double Boiler
Rocket Espresso R58 Double Boiler -  Everything you need for the perfect shot!
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Complete Noob  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
MikeSD

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: De'Longhi EC155
Grinder: Hario Skerton, Baratza...
Vac Pot: Yama Stovetop 8 Cup
Drip: Hario Pourover
Roaster: Homemade SC/CO
Posted Thu Jan 10, 2013, 3:02pm
Subject: Complete Noob

Okay, so I just stumbled into the world of pour over coffee on accident.  I am a teacher and I was looking for a good way to brew a single cup of coffee at a time in my classroom.  (I already had an electric tea kettle.)  I bought a Melitta single cup brewer on a whim.  I figured if it was not that great, no big deal, it was only 5 buck.  Well, anyway I brewed my first cup and just couldn't believe how good it was.  I quickly replace my cheap drip brewer at home with a Melitta 8 cup brewer.  I'm liking it so far, but I have a few questions.

First, (and I'm sure you get this all the time, but I couldn't find that answer) do you need a precession kettle for Melitta?  From what I understand the idea is to draw out the brew time, but with a Melitta the hole in the bottom is fairly small so the brew time is kind of slow anyway.  Should I spend the extra bucks on it or does it even matter?

Also, has anyone used/can vouch for the Bonavita stove top or electric kettle.  I've seen a few sights that rave about them, but the reviews are not great on Amazon.  There are complains of rust and the spout breaking off.