Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
What beans are good quality and moderately priced?
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > What beans are...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
mkeller234

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2013, 2:49am
Subject: What beans are good quality and moderately priced?

I realize this is a pretty fundamental question, but I am really new to all of this.  

I'd like to know if there is a source for fresh, quality beans at low - moderate prices.  For example, I bought a small bag of Eight o'clock brand coffee for 6.99 at the grocery store.  The coffee had very little bloom, which I assume it indicates the coffee is not very fresh.  It does not seem like a good value for a small bag of coffee.  I can buy a similar sized bag at a local coffee shop that roasts, and the beans are obviously fresher and the prices are similar.

But, is there a decent, everyday option.  Maybe not the best bean, but perfectly serviceable and affordable?  Should I be looking online, are there other sources?
 View Profile Link to this post
mkeller234

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2013, 4:17am
Subject: Re: What beans are good quality and moderately priced?

I am using a French Press, in case that info matters.  I used the coffee grinder at the store and was not very impressed with it.  I'm planning to buy an OE Lido grinder as soon as they are available.
kschendel

Expertise: I love coffee

Grinder: Maestro
Roaster: Freshroast
Posted Mon Jan 7, 2013, 10:11am