Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Chemex size question
Craft Roasted Coffee
Some days you make the coffee. Other days the coffee makes you.
bit.ly/craftroasting-ks

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Chemex size...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
olijuice

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012, 6:27pm
Subject: Chemex size question

Hey all, this site was a great find!!!  I'm new to the art of coffee.  I recently took to looking for and buying locally brewed coffee beans to grind at home, but I am still using drip coffee maker.  I learned about the Chemex and I am fascinated by it.  I like its simplicity in pouring coffee and cleaning afterwards.  I have never used a French Press but I have done a little research and I get the impression it takes a steeper learning curve to master and looks like it is tougher to keep clean.. but maybe I am wrong.

I typically make about 4 cups of coffee in the morning for my commute to work and rarely make larger cups, except occasionally if I have guests.  I ran across an article once that said Chemex aren't ideal for small sized coffee making, i.e. less than 2 cups because water does not retain heat in small sizes.. but a Chemex is great for when you make lots of coffee.

Can I get away with buying an eight or ten cup Chemex if i plan on making on average 4 cups of coffee daily, and maybe once a week or less more cups.. or should i buy two different sizes?
 View Profile Link to this post
TheSunInsideYou
TheSunInsideYou
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Breville BES900XL
Grinder: Laranzato HC-600, OE LIDO,...
Vac Pot: Yama 3
Drip: Hario V60, Chemex
Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012, 9:46pm