Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Could I Tell Noticeable Difference with better grinder?
Cafe Solutions
Commercial sales and service, nationwide installation, equipment leasing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Could I Tell...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
JavaGator

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Mon Nov 25, 2013, 5:01pm
Subject: Could I Tell Noticeable Difference with better grinder?

I love my coffee.  I would say I am an advanced novice.  I use the Brazen, and grind beans about 75% of the time.  As for coffee, I use whole bean Dunkin, Horton fairly often.  I'll mix in some Starbucks, and the like.  I also joined the Mistobox sample coffee club, where I get around 50g of 4 different micro roasters each month. To the point of my post, I currently have a Mr. Coffee burr grinder.  It is adjustable, and I keep it in the middle range for the Brazen.  Having read numerous posts and searched on line, I see there is a wide range of burr grinders.  The Mr Coffee I have cost around $40.  So my ultimate questions are; 1.  Is my grinder adequate based on my coffee palate?, 2.  Would a novice like me really taste a substantial difference in the cup with a better grinder?, 3.  If you think so, what would be the next step up that won't break the bank? Thanks for your input.
 View Profile Link to this post
CMIN

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Crossland CC1
Grinder: Baratza Preciso
Posted Mon Nov 25, 2013, 5:23pm
Subject: Re: Could I Tell Noticeable Difference with better grinder?