Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Kettles: Kalita Thin Spout, Wave, or Buono?
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Kettles: Kalita...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
rmp71701

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Nov 12, 2013, 9:55am
Subject: Kettles: Kalita Thin Spout, Wave, or Buono?

I'm new to the pour over world (& coffeegeek.com) & loving it. In the process of assembling my arsenal.

I've already got a Bonmac ceramic dripper (may be diversifying & trying other ones as well down the road).  But I'm needing a good stovetop kettle. Looking for some help on deciding on the right one & wanted to ask for recommendations, experiences.

Things I'm considering: 1) Quality of stainless steel - for taste, longevity, safety, etc., 2)Performance, & 3)Cost, though I look at the kettle as a long term investment of sorts & try not to restrict myself too much with price. With 2 kids I do live on a budget though.

OK so here's what I'm looking at:

1) Buono - Obviously one of the most popular right now. Cost is a plus. I know Bonavita is comparable & cheaper, but I'd prefer Japanese made from Hario. What I don't like about Buono is lightness & construction (I'd prefer seamless bottom, not a base plate).

2) Kalita Thin Spout - Good reputation brand & looks solid. Good construction. Small, but I just brew one big cup at a time for me only, so size is not a big deal. But I have seen no reviews on this.  Don't want to drop the money on it if I'd fair better w/ the much cheaper Buono.