Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Coffee Grinder Help!
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Coffee Grinder...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
nova_vo1

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Thu Apr 25, 2013, 11:43am
Subject: Coffee Grinder Help!

Hey everyone, I'm new to coffeegeek but have been perusing the forums a lot in hopes to find a good/decent grinder for making pourover/french press and possibly siphon coffee in the near future. There's been a lot out there, a lot of it has to do with espressos too, but I don't think I'm ready to step into those grounds yet haha. My mind is about to blow up from thinking about grinders, so I decided to just make a post about it.

Simply put I'm willing to spend 150-200 for the grinder, preferably lower.
I'm trying to find a baratza virtuouso refurbished (since this grinder appears all over the forums) but am seeing if there are other viable alternatives. Also am looking at the bodum conical burr grinder right now too.

Thanks in advance!
 View Profile Link to this post
PhillyRick

Posted Fri Apr 26, 2013, 7:28am
Subject: Re: Coffee Grinder Help!

I've had a Breville burr grinder (about $100) for a couple of months.  It beats the pants off my Krups whirly grinder, but I have no idea how it compares to more expensive machines.

Rick
PJK
PJK

Espresso: Rancillo Silvia, Tonic...
Grinder: Modified Rocky, Elma side...
Vac Pot: Old Silex
Drip: Melitta BCM 4  +Some old...
Roaster: Hottop, Modified Z&D,...
Posted Fri Apr 26, 2013, 10:31pm