Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Rancilio Silvia and Rocky Grinder grind setting woes
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Rancilio Silvia...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
ErwinDink
ErwinDink
Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia
Grinder: Rocky
Posted Sat Mar 30, 2013, 6:51am
Subject: Rancilio Silvia and Rocky Grinder grind setting woes

I've been using my Silvia for about two years. It's been great. Throughout that time I have also been using a Rocky Grinder. For the most part, my coffee is very satisfactory. I mainly make cappuccinos using locally roasted coffee and soy milk (Pacific Barista Blend). But the same coffee at my local shop is still much better than mine. I have always just assumed it's the difference in equipment -- good as the Silvia is, it just can't compare to the professional machinery. But in talking with the barista he thinks the problem is that my grind isn't fine enough. I've got the Rocky set to 10 and my grind is somewhat rougher than his (he uses a different grinder so we can't compare settings). The problem is, if I set my grind any finer, the Silvia can't handle it. It takes 30 seconds for a single shot, sometimes longer and I like to make triples. I do not overpack my coffee. I'm sure I'm using less than 30 lbs of pressure when packing.

Should I just accept the situation as the difference between home brewed and pro coffee? Is there anything I could do to improve the performance of my Silvia?

--
E.D.
 View Profile Visit website Link to this post
emradguy
emradguy