Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
First brew with the Brazen (Ethiopian Yrgacheffe) - Questions
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > First brew with...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
TheEther

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2012, 10:32am
Subject: First brew with the Brazen (Ethiopian Yrgacheffe) - Questions

I'm a total Coffee Noob just so you know.  I bought a Brazen seeking to have a machine that can brew a great cup of coffee for when I (or my guests) want a great cup.  The Brazen seems to be an incredibly well-built machine.

I whipped out the Brazen, set my elevation to 1000ft, set the pre-soak time to 45 seconds, brew temp to 204 and calibrated it.  After running 2 8 cup dry runs through it, I filled it to the 6 cup fill line and readied it for the Yrga.  The bag of pre-roasted pre-ground Ethiopian Yrga (from Willoughbys) said it was roasted on Dec 26th and recommended 2 Tablespoons per 6 oz.   - as a side note a bag of my wifes decaf (we had in the house) recommended 1 tbls per 6oz so I was a bit confused on the 2 tbls per 6oz recco on the Yrga. - 8 Tablespoons later (6 cups brew) using a coffee filter (not the gold filter) I kicked off the Brazen on auto and letter-rip.