Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Machines and Brewing Methods
Aerobie Aeropress vs. French press
Guatemala Classic Bourbon
Temblor - exceptionally smooth, rich coffee with notes of spice, cinnamon, and chocolate. Only at
www.thelostgringo.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Machines > Aerobie...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
foges

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Sun Jul 5, 2009, 4:53am
Subject: Aerobie Aeropress vs. French press

Hey guys I'm new here, anyway, Im a student and just moved away from home (where we have a Miele coffee machine, one that grinds the beans and makes great coffee with foam/cream on top). Now I need an alternative and one that isn't too expensive or complicated to use. So I've been looking at getting a french press or an aeropress, I'm just looking for oppinions on what alternative will get me coffee closest to the taste that Im used to.

Thanks
 View Profile Link to this post
wbaguhn
wbaguhn

Espresso: Ponte Vecchio Lusso
Grinder: Cunill Tranquilo, Baratza...
Vac Pot: Cory DR
Drip: Vietnamese gadget, AeroPress
Roaster: Behmor
Posted Sun Jul 5, 2009, 5:31pm
Subject: Re: Aerobie Aeropress vs. French press

What size coffee are you looking for?  Something in the 25-50mL range?  Something in the 100-200mL range?

How important is the foam?

I'm an aeropress fan personally, because I like the smoothness (which I've always found french presses to lack).  Straight out of the aeropress comes a nice (to my taste) beverage, suitable for small cups, or can be stretched with hot water for larger coffees.

However, if you really want the foam, something like a Brikka may be what you're really after.
SlowRain
SlowRain
Expertise: I love coffee