Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Even roasts with heat gun?
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Even roasts with...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
eds

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Sat Dec 14, 2013, 7:50pm
Subject: Even roasts with heat gun?

I'm a home-roasting newbie - using both a hot-air popcorn popper and the "Dogbowl-Heatgun" method.

I can get pretty even roasts with the popper but I'm afraid it heats too quickly - I get to first crack in about 3 minutes and most of my roasts are around 5 minutes or under. The results have been okay, but I'm looking to improve.

Using the heat-gun method, I use a steel dog bowl with beans filled to 1/4 of its total capacity (so if the bowl holds 4 cups, I'll use 1 cup of beans.)

While I feel like I can control the roast much more, the results have been somewhat uneven in color. These usually take about 10+ minutes and I constantly stir the beans while heating.

I'm wondering - is it normal to have some under-roasted beans in this approach?

Thanks for helping!
 View Profile Link to this post
Buckley

Posted Sun Dec 15, 2013, 7:59am
Subject: Re: Even roasts with heat gun?

Dear eds,
I do popper roasting and not HG/DB roasting (just because of what I can find cheaply - no other reason).
Uneven roasting is normal for the start of a learning curve but not normal for the mastery of the learning curve - I am offering this observation second-hand from what I have seen online since, as I said, I do not do HG/DB roasting.