Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Air Crazy and 2nd crack...
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Air Crazy and...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
BonsaiDoug

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Gaggia Classic
Grinder: Baratza Virtuoso Preciso
Roaster: FreshRoast SR500
Posted Fri Jul 5, 2013, 7:25am
Subject: Air Crazy and 2nd crack...

I'm new to home roasting. I've done about 20 (3.5oz.) roasts with the West Bend Air Crazy. 1st crack is easy to hear. Once it's through I keep listening for 2nd crack but never seem to hear it.

Depending on the bean, I've roasted anywhere ~11-13 minutes, and visually I seem to be into FC/FC+. Everything has tasted quite nice, but I'm wondering with the popcorn air popper, and the hearing of a 66 year old, if I'm missing 2nd crack? I just don't know how far to push the roast and/or the Air Crazy.

TIA
 View Profile Link to this post
Prof
Prof
Expertise: Pro Roaster

Espresso: PV Lusso
Grinder: Pharos 696
Drip: Aeropress
Roaster: Behmor 1600+
Posted Fri Jul 5, 2013, 4:59pm
Subject: Re: Air Crazy and 2nd crack...

Welcome.  Let your nose tell you during the roast and in the cup.  

It could be that the air popper doesn't have enough oomph to get to 2C, but perhaps you don't hear it because of maturity issues (or listening to loud rock and roll when you were young... :)  ).

You might partially cover the roast during 1C and see if that forces more heat to stay in the chamber.  

Good luck.

LMWDP # 010
Eman

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Fri Jul 5, 2013, 11:28pm