Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Anyone have a good Gesha profile?
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Anyone have a...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
bicktrav

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Mon Jul 1, 2013, 2:22pm
Subject: Anyone have a good Gesha profile?

I just purchased some Guatemala Acatenango Gesha. Half of the beans are going to my brother as a birthday present. This is my first time roasting Gesha coffee. I'm planning on roasting tonight and really want to get the best out of the beans. The profile I'm typically roasting with (in my Gene Cafe) is as follows:

1) 482 until temp read reaches 330 at which point I drop the temp setting to 350
2) Once beans start showing hints of yellow (usually around 6 minutes in), bump the temp back up to 482
3) At onset of first crack, drop temp to 460
4) Begin cooling cycle at end of first crack (roughly two minutes after first crack began).
5) Once internal temp has dropped to 300, pull beans from drum and transfer to a colander; stir until cool