Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Buying green beans in person
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Buying green...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Bardo

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Wed Apr 24, 2013, 3:59pm
Subject: Buying green beans in person

I am new to the game, and looking for a source of green beans that I can actually see and touch. I live in the Washington DC metro area. Any ideas?
 View Profile Link to this post
GVDub

Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Londinium I, Arrarex...
Grinder: Gaggia MD85, Dienes Mokka,...
Drip: Behmor Brazen, Abid Clever
Roaster: Behmor 1600+
Posted Wed Apr 24, 2013, 6:21pm
Subject: Re: Buying green beans in person

Find local microroasters and ask them if they'll sell you green. I've never had a roaster worth his salt who wouldn't sell me greens if I ask politely. Sometimes I can even get them to give me some roasting tips, since many of them started out as homeroasters, too.
Dooglas
Dooglas
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Vibiemme Junior
Grinder: Vario, Virtuoso
Drip: Bonavita, Bodum press
Roaster: GeneCafe, Behmor
Posted Sat Apr 27, 2013, 4:59pm

A worthy quest, but a fairly limited one. Very few of us live where we will ever have the opportunity to see or buy the variety of over the counter greens that might otherwise catch our interest. I have found cupping notes to be more useful than the appearance of greens in any case. Sweet Marias, for example, has a selection of quality greens with useful cupping notes. The Green Coffee Buyers Club (a co-op) is another source that consistently includes reliable cupping notes with each offering.