Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Affordable Home Roaster/DIY Home roaster build
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Affordable Home...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
cambrew88

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Wed Feb 20, 2013, 1:48pm
Subject: Affordable Home Roaster/DIY Home roaster build

Hey folks!
New to the forum and relatively new to home roasting, well very new I suppose. I have been doing it for about 7 months now with a whirley pop. I have had great results and I love using the Whirley Pop, however a lot of friends and family are asking to buy my coffee. I have also had several businesses ask to buy and serve at their restaurants. I am in a pickle, I am a college student with a very strict budget. I need to upgrade from the whirley pop, just far too time consuming. I am on the market for a 2-4 pound roaster. I cannot pay much (I cannot spend more than $1000). I am also open to the idea of building my own which I know absolutely nothing about. I am open to all ideas! I have looked at several models on eBay and I like a few, however I have read mixed reviews. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Also, does anyone have any advice on where to begin in the area of buying beans directly from farmers? Don't get me wrong, I love Sweet Marias and buying from various people on eBay, however, I would love a more cost efficient way of going about this. Thanks so much for the help!
 View Profile Link to this post
oldgearhead
oldgearhead
Expertise: I like coffee