Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Behmor and Thermocouple
Craft Roasted Coffee
Some days you make the coffee. Other days the coffee makes you.
bit.ly/craftroasting-ks

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Behmor and...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
Oriondriver

Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: Saeco Magic Comfort+
Grinder: Cuisinart Burr Grinder
Vac Pot: Cory Vintage
Drip: Cuisinart Grind and Brew
Roaster: Behmor 1600
Posted Sat Jan 12, 2013, 7:22am
Subject: Behmor and Thermocouple

Greetings all... let me start by saying that I am brand new to this obsession and already hooked... as a long time homebrewer it was a natural evolution to get into coffee roasting... much like homebrewing I love the art and science behind coffee roasting and being a Type A, OCD kind of person I am driven by tracking measurements and statistics.... hence my questions...

I have spent a couple of days scouring the internet for ideas on how to best add the ability of tracking temperature in my new Behmor 1600.. which I already love... I have only done about a dozen roasts so far but the coffee has been really good and now I want to better understand what is going on so I can understand the nuances to taking good coffee to great coffee.... so...

1. What is the best method for adding temperature tracking to Behmor 1600?
  2. The K Type Thermocouple seems to fit the bill... what is everyone using?
  3. What is the best location for thermocouple?
  4. Are you using a logging system? Are you doing it manually?
  5. Do you use an app or software program to document your roast history?