Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
(Another) Poppery PID controller project
The Coffee Project
Home coffee Roasting equipment, green beans, and supplies
www.coffeeproject.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > (Another)...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 9 last page next page
Author Messages
dana_leighton
dana_leighton
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Isomac Relax; Caferina...
Grinder: Macap MXK; Baratza Vario-W;...
Vac Pot: Yama 5-cup
Drip: Technivorm; CCD; Melitta
Roaster: Poppery I w/PID controller
Posted Sat May 16, 2009, 11:19pm
Subject: (Another) Poppery PID controller project

I have been using my Poppery for the last 4 years or so, profiling my roasts the hard way. First, I separated the fan and heater curcuit so the fan was on all the time, and heater controlled by the switch in the front. This allows rudimentary control over the ramping speed, and I achieved some quite good roasts this way. The drawback is that you have to continually monitor temperature and learn when to switch on and off the heater to maintain a constant ramp rather than letting the temperature fall off. Using this method, you're basically a human PID controller!

The next step taken several months ago was to route the heater circuit through a router speed control, like the one sold at Harbor Freight. This one allows me to set the heater power and gradually increase it to achieve the ramping -- Much easier and smoother. Still it requires a significant amount of monitoring temperatures and mental arithmetic to keep the ramp stable.