Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Lack of depth in coffee, new to roasting
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Lack of depth in...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
badmajon

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2012, 7:37am
Subject: Lack of depth in coffee, new to roasting

Hello, I am pretty new to roasting. I've only done a few batches. I am using an air popper (west bend air crazy, modified to bypass the thermostat) and a thermometer to roast my coffee.

Although I am happy in general with the coffee I have roasted, some guatamalan and some rwanda (sorry, don't have bags here so I'm not sure exactly what they are), the coffee seems a bit tart for my tastes. Not really sour, but a sort of 'front of the mouth' tangy kind of flavor. It just doesn't have a lot of body. I have tried roasting to full city to city +, and although the beans taste different depending on roast style and variety, I'm still not getting that deep body I am looking for.

I usually get to my target roast level in 3-4 minutes and I am letting the beans rest for 24 hours before grinding. Like I said, the coffee still tastes much better than the usual stale crap I get in the store, but I have yet to really say "wow!" to anything I've roasted.