Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Experienced roaster looking for new machine
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Experienced...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
atalanta
atalanta
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Gaggia
Grinder: Braun burr grinder
Drip: Capresso Grind & Brew,...
Roaster: Fresh Roast
Posted Thu Apr 19, 2012, 10:11am
Subject: Experienced roaster looking for new machine

I've been roasting since pre 2000 so have a little experience in the craft. I started with a Fresh Roast (pre plus so it was many many moons ago) which FINALY gave up the ghost about a year ago. It had been acting badly and not being consistent enough for a couple years, but I could still fuss with it to get a decent roast. I was given a Fresh Roast +8 for Christmas one year (pre 2010 since I think they were discontinued that year) and recently took it out of the box to take over roasting. Less than a year later, it's not playing nice so I'm looking at a new roaster just in case I can't fix it.

What the new roaster is doing: I put in the beans and turn the timer most of the way. I walked away and when I came back, the beans hadn't been roasted. I let it cool for a couple hours, put in fresh beans and tried again. Same thing. I heard the blower kick on like it always does, and the beans on the bottom weren't burnt so I'm guessing it's the heating element that is quitting on me.