Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Home Roasting Talk
Air vs Drum.  Major taste difference?
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Home Roast > Air vs Drum....  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Wishbone

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Jan 31, 2010, 4:49pm
Subject: Air vs Drum.  Major taste difference?

I've been roasting for over 2 years with a FreshRoast 8+, and absolutely love it.  But I would love to have something that can handle a larger size, and let me get more consistent roasts.

I was leaning towards getting a Behmor, but as we both have loved the bright air roast taste we have been getting (95% use is Silvia, 5% french press), I am a little leery that the upgrade might result in a taste downgrade.  Is there a significant difference between the same bean air roasted versus drum?

If there is a significant difference, would a stove top roast be similar to the Behmor?  I have a bunch of beans on the way and that would give me a chance to see what the difference is and how they compare, if it would be close.  If I find air roasting is my preferred taste, what set up (I am not mechanically inclined, so mods are not much help for me!) would you recommend?

It's been an interesting journey, I started with a cheapo Krups machine, a blade grinder, and grocery store coffee.  Upgraded (?) to an all in one, replaced it with the Silvia/Rocky combo, then got the FreshRoast.  Amazing how much better my coffee is, and how my tastes have changed.  Went from a darker and stronger the better coffee drinker to a lighter roast, fruit bomb fan.