Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: General Discussion
Baratza Preciso + Different Beans + Same Recipe = Different Brew Time?
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > General > Baratza Preciso...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
jz687

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Fri May 17, 2013, 4:18pm
Subject: Baratza Preciso + Different Beans + Same Recipe = Different Brew Time?

Hey,

So, I'm new to home brewing and have a quick question for you guys.

I recently purchased a Baratza Preciso, and following Intelligentsia's brew ratio (24g:410g in just under 3min) I've found that an 11 on my Baratza gets me where I want to be (brew done in 2:56)

I just finished the beans I was using and now, when I did the exact same thing but with a new bag of beans (different roaster) my total brew time was 3:10.

Is it that normal/expected? Do different beans really affect brew time that much?

(Using a v60, fyi)

Thanks!
 View Profile Link to this post
dyqik

Espresso: Bezzera BZ07 PM
Grinder: Baratza Virtuoso Preciso...
Vac Pot: Cona D
Drip: Bona-Vita, CCD, Aeropress.
Roaster: Gene Cafe, Modded Poppers
Posted Mon May 20, 2013, 6:24am
Subject: Re: Baratza Preciso + Different Beans + Same Recipe = Different Brew Time?