Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: General Discussion
Coffee Bar Etiquette
Guatemala Classic Bourbon
Temblor - exceptionally smooth, rich coffee with notes of spice, cinnamon, and chocolate. Only at
www.thelostgringo.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > General > Coffee Bar...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
gaillaustx

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Ascaso Duo Pro
Grinder: Ascaso I-Steel
Posted Sat Aug 11, 2012, 5:11am
Subject: Coffee Bar Etiquette

What would you do if you are served nasty espresso?

So Im not sure I have ever had a good espresso, my best experience being $bucks. Im making my own at home, Im a super newbie.  All of my shots are drinkable to me. A couple of them have been very exciting, flavorful, and interesting; to me. But after lurking here for awhile, Im not trusting my own judgment.  

So I went online to find the best coffee shop here in town, and after filtering through the reviews I found one across town, in an old neighborhood, sort of hidden from the main tourist crowd. I hoped to have the experience of tasting a good shot of espresso.

I went over there this week, around 9:30, thinking most of the heavy morning traffic would be gone, but still early enough for the better barista to be on duty. I watched him pull the shot. The water poured right through the filter, black as sin, no crme. Im thinking this is not right, but what do I know. What I experienced with that cup was awful. So bitter there was no flavor, no hint of anything right about it. The nastiness hung in my mouth for the whole ride home, about 45 min.

And it was $3, plus $1 tip. Really? What would you have done?