Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: General Discussion
First cupping experience
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > General > First cupping...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Burd
Burd
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia PID'd
Grinder: Nuova Simonelli MCF
Vac Pot: Yama
Drip: Cuisinart Grind & Brew...
Roaster: Behmor + i-Roast
Posted Sat Jun 16, 2012, 10:08pm
Subject: First cupping experience

Well today was filled with all kinds of new things.  I have been roasting at home for nearly 5 years and have never been to a cupping.  Where I live there is little interest in such an activity not to mention no quality places to host it.  I had found an article online and saw they were holding a cupping today and tomorrow.  Even though it was nearly an hour away I had to go.  I went today and it was fabulous.  They had the whole thing set up perfectly.  I may have never attended an "official", for lack of a better word, cupping even though I have seen many videos over the years.  It was just as they showed them, 4 total coffees, 3 cups of each so 12 total.  We started by smelling the dry grounds followed by the host filling each cup and repeating it.  We waited our 4 minutes then each person was able to break the crust on one of the cups while taking in the aroma, there were a few folks there and he wanted us all to experience it.  Then came the beginning of the fun.  He had us taste each of the 4 while taking a taste from all 3 cups of each type.  I guess as he explained it, it was too cleanse the palate from the other taste and to br