Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Articles: Quickshot Review Feedback
Eva Solo Cafe Solo
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Articles > Quickshot... > Eva Solo Cafe...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 3 of 4 first page | last page previous page | next page
Author Messages
rasqual
rasqual
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: *$ Barista, non-pressurized
Grinder: SMP
Vac Pot: Yama, Aeropress
Drip: Porcelain Melitta 103, Hario
Roaster: "ring roaster", mod popper
Posted Wed Jun 29, 2005, 9:17pm
Subject: Re: Eva Solo Cafe Solo

Hmm. Great review Mark, and I'm buying one of these suckers. I'm a newbie, BTW. However:

One thing I did discover is that there's a sweet spot in the timing for when coffee out of the Cafe Solo is good - between the 4 minute mark and about 12 minutes (after adding water). Longer than that, and the coffee really starts to show signs of bitterness and over extraction. It's even more noticeable in this device than with a press pot because in a press pot, the ground coffee is mostly separated from the brewed coffee (although by no means completely).

This seems to argue that a press pot would make better coffee if extraction went longer than is customarily respected. But in your "how to" for press pots, you cite four minutes steep time (as does everyone else). But above, clearly you're speaking of a sweet spot extending out to 12 minutes. As far as I know, the physics in both situations differ little.

Why would not your findings concerning the Eva revise understanding of steep time in press pots?